Freshmen elections

A few lucky freshmen have already made their mark as new Rattlers at Florida A&M by way of student leadership.

Late Tuesday evening, the FAMU Electoral Commission posted the results of the 2013-2014 freshmen elections.

Keenan Williams and Destini Webster are the new freshmen president and vice president. The pair won with a total of 425 votes, beating out the other two sets of
candidates, who received 383 votes combined.

The attendant position went to Amberly Renee Williams, who stole the election with a total of 410 votes.

“I’m so excited and overwhelmed to serve the freshman class,” Williams said. “As attendant, I plan to advocate for freshmen through scholarships, community service, recruitment and retention. Recruitment and retention are so important because it allows future and new students to experience the rich tradition and legacy that FAMU has to offer.”

The eight newly elected freshmen senators are: Justin Bruno, Adrienne Floyd, KaDarius Gardner, Ki-Jana “KJ” Garmon, Hakim Henderson, Anthony McNealy, Andrea Pringle, and James “J.J.” Rozier.

“I want to instill a harder drive into my fellow Rattlers,” Garmon said. “My goal is to earn national exposure so that media will want to come to FAMU to see all the good we are doing, which will hopefully overshadow any negative attention.”

Campaigning for the elections ran from Sept. 25 to Tuesday, when the winners were announced outside the office of student activities. Most of the candidates won by a large majority.

“This election is unique because it is the first time in several years that there was no run-off election,” said Jeremy Davis, deputy electoral commissioner. Run-off elections occur when the student candidate doesn’t receive a 50 percent majority.

The main responsibility of these newly elected members of student government will be to work with their committees within the senate to allocate student funds through the money collected with the activity and service fees. These A&S fees are charged to every student per credit hour and are under the control of the student senate.

The candidates will serve a two-year term and will be eligible to run for re-election their junior year.