College of Arts and Sciences Honors Distinguished Alumni

In 1987, Florida A&M desired to honor the achievements of its graduates. As part of the Centennial Celebration, the College of Arts and Sciences unveiled four Galleries of Distinction. The galleries are tributes to graduates who have made significant contributions in their disciplines, organizations and communities at the local, national and international levels.

These galleries are located in Jones Hall, Tucker Hall and the Foster-Tanner Fine Arts Gallery. The four galleries feature portraits and short biographies of the honorees.

On Saturday, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Ralph Turner has prepared an event to celebrate graduates who are enshrined in the Tucker Hall and Foster Tanner galleries.

Distinguished alumni from the fine and performing arts include painter Willie Reagan and professor emeritus Kenneth Falana. Actors Anika Noni Rose, T’Keyah Crystal Keymah and Meshach Taylor, as well as noted patron of the arts and educator Shirley Kinsey were recognized as well. From the discipline of English, inductees include Chanta Haywood and Frances Stallworth.

The honorees will be inducted at 5:30 p.m. in the University’s Grand Ballroom. Date?

“The University sees this event as an opportunity for previously honored individuals who have not only left a legacy with their alma mater but also left footprints to guide the students who now walk the same halls they once traversed to come back home and mix and mingle with the newly-enshrined honorees,” said Turner.