FAMU Hall of Fame to induct six members

The Florida A&M Sports Hall of Fame will induct six Rattlers Friday. The 35th class of the Sports Hall of Fame will include four athletes, one coach and one announcer.              

The athletes that will be enshrined are Tiffany Daughtry, Olrick Johnson, Ulysses Wilson and the late Robert Jackson Jr. Assistant football coach Amos Hill and local radio personality Joe Bullard will round out the 2010 Hall of Fame class.              

Newly inducted MLB Hall of Famer and former Rattler Andre Dawson will be the special guest honoree at the ceremony this year.

Daughtry was a standout track athlete at Florida A&M from 1989 to 1992. She led the Rattlers to both indoor and outdoor Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference championships in 1989 and 1991. Daughtry was a shot put, javelin and discuss thrower under legendary track coach Bobby Lang.

Johnson played linebacker for the Rattlers from 1995 to 1998. He led the team in tackles during the 1997 and 1998 seasons as he compiled 193 tackles in that that span. Johnson was the team’s defensive MVP in 1998 and he a brief stint in the NFL with the Minnesota Vikings, New England Patriots and New York Jets.              

Wilson led the baseball team in hitting and stolen bases during the 1969 and 1970 seasons. He played from 1967-1970 and he was a second team All-American.              

The Florida A&M baseball team won three MEAC championships in 1987, 1988 and 1990 with Jackson as its ace pitcher. Jackson, a FAMU high alumnus, pitched 96.1 innings during the 1988 season and his record still holds today.

Hill helped mold the football team’s defense into one of the top defensive units in the country during his tenure as an assistant. The Rattlers were ranked no.1 in total defense (149.6 ypg) and rushing defense (48.6 ypg) under his tutelage in 1978.

Bullard has done work on the campus for more than 35 years and he is most known as the “Voice of the Marching 100.” He is a Florida A&M alumnus from Jacksonville, Fla., and has previously been honored by the Leon County Chapter of the National Alumni Association.              

The enshrinement will be held at the Al Lawson Center and single tickets for the ceremony are $50. Tables for groups of eight can also be purchased and tickets will be sold at the Florida A&M Athletic Box Office.