Rattlers receive honor

Nine Florida A&M University football players were honored with selections for the 2008 All-Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference All-Star team.

Quarterback Curtis Pulley, wide receiver Kevin Elliott, offensive lineman Robert Okeafor and special teams specialist and cornerback LeRoy Vann, were chosen as first team honorees.

Players said the individual honors they received are a tribute to an impressive season.

“I think it was our record,” said Okeafor, a junior from Jacksonville. “The whole team effort and me just doing my part and what the coach asked me to do. I feel honored to be all MEAC. Not everyone receives that honor and for me to be chosen, I feel excited and honored.”

Okeafor anchored an offensive line that helped the Rattler offense average a gaudy 35.2 points per game.

The line also helped first-year Pulley get off to a fast start with 206.1 offense yards per game, including a team high of 885 rushing yards to go along with seven rushing touchdowns. He also had 1,382 passing yards and 17 passing touchdowns.

The Hopkinsville, Ky., native completed 98 of 178 passes with just five interceptions, turning in a 146.17 passer rating, while earning MVP in both Atlanta and Orlando Classics.

“It’s an honorable on the team. We had a good team that helped-just winning, making plays,” Pulley said. “I’m glad I accomplished it.”

One of the Rattlers biggest surprise this season was Vann, who enjoyed a record breaking campaign. Vann finished the season with consisting of 1,593 combined return yards, 66 returns in a season both of which were NCAA Football Championship Subdivision records. Vann also tied for first in touchdowns with six.

Elliot, a sophomore from Orlando, said he did not have being a conference honoree on his mind during the season.

“I just did what ever it took to help the team win,” Elliot said. “I guess at the end of the season my stats showed [what I can do].”

Elliot had 58 receptions for 817 yards and 7 touchdowns this season.

Curtis Holcomb, 20, a sophomore from Miami, was a second team honoree .

“I did my part this year,” Holcomb said. “It was a big goal and that’s what I wanted.”

Holcomb picked off a team-high five interceptions for 91 yards in returns.

Second team honorees landed on the hands of Taj Jenkines, who finished the season with 13 catches for 159 yards in 12 games; Anthony Collins, who served as left tackle and left guard and helped the Rattler offense score 40 or more points six times; Cameron Houston, who had 46 total tackles 12 tackles for 40 yards in losses, along with four quarterback sacks for 21 yards in losses and Philip Sylvester, who rushed for 717 yards and 8 touchdowns on 166 carries, while catching 17 passes out of the backfield for 101 yards.

Anthony Collins, 21, a junior from Miami, is also pleased with the honors.

“It’s great to get some recognition for playing offensive line,” Collins said. “I want to thank my coaches and teammates for making plays.”

Houston, 20, a junior from Rockledge, also said he is pleased with his accomplishments that allowed him to be chosen.

“It’s just good to be recognized for your hard work. I will keep working hard,” Houston said.

Senior Taj Jenkins finished the season with 13 catches for 159 yards in 12 games.

Jenkins is hopeful that his hard work will translate in a spot on an NFL roster.

“It just means if I’m trying to make it to the next level, I still got to work to put in. I’m trying to get to the NFL,” Jenkins said. “I like to thank my coaching staff for pushing me this hard this season.”