AP names Manning MVP again

For the second straight season, Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning was presented with the Associated Press NFL Most Valuable Player Award. Manning, who grabbed 47 of the 48 votes, broke the 20-year-old single-season touchdown record held by former Miami Dolphins quarterback Dan Marino by throwing 49 on the year. His 121.1 passing rating that demolished former San Francisco 49ers quarterback Steve Young’s mark was also among the several league and team records he set this season.


Wild Card weekend is complete and the stage is set for the Divisional Playoffs. In the American Football Conference, the New York Jets march into Pittsburgh Saturday afternoon to take on hot rookie quarterback Ben Roethlisberger and the Steelers after a thrilling 20-17 overtime win over the San Diego Chargers Jan. 8.

After breezing past the Denver Broncos, the Indianapolis Colts meet the defending champion New England Patriots Sunday at Gillette Stadium, a place where Manning has not had much success lately. In the National Football Conference, the St. Louis Rams faceoff with the Atlanta Falcons Saturday, in a battle of two teams accustomed to playing indoors.

Finally, a Philadelphia Eagle team minus wide receiver Terrell Owens welcomes gimpy wide receiver Randy Moss and the Minnesota Vikings to town Sunday afternoon.


Former Houston Astros outfielder Carlos Beltran was introduced to his new team Tuesday, after agreeing to a seven-year, $119 million contract with the New York Mets. When Beltran did not re-sign with the Astros by the midnight deadline set by the Astros Saturday, he took his 38 home runs, 104 RBI’s and 42 stolen bases from the 2004 season to join All-star pitcher Pedro Martinez in an effort to help rebuild the Mets franchise.


Orlando Magic guard Cuttino Mobley is on the move again after being traded along with Michael Bradley to the Sacramento Kings for guard Doug Christie Monday evening. Mobley went to the Magic in the deal that sent All-Star guard Tracy McGrady to Houston over the summer. Christie, who has made his reputation as a defensive specialist, will join the fifth team of his 13-year career. Mobley, who was Orlando’s third leading scorer with 16 points per game, will now join a starting lineup that includes former All-Stars Chris Webber, Mike Bibby and Brad Miller.

Compiled by LeMont Calloway Source espn.com. orlandosentinel.com