The feeling of triumph and defeat: FAMU election results revealed

Runoffs will be taking place Thursday for several positions. Courtesy: Kelis Scott

Campaign week came to a close Tuesday for candidates at Florida A&M University for the 2023-2024 academic year. Polls were opened at 8 a.m. and closed at 6 p.m., with the results being revealed several hours later via Instagram live on the FAMU Electoral Commission page and posted to iStrike right after. 

The first results that were revealed were the president and vice president for the senior and junior classes. Reginald Brown and Myles Cowart will serve the class of 2024 in the upcoming academic year as Senior Class President and Senior Vice President. 

Congratulations are also in order to the Junior Class President-elect Sydney Bellamy and Vice President-elect Aniyah Sparks. Both the Brown/Cowart and Bellamy/Sparks administrations ran unopposed in their elections. 

The junior class senators were announced immediately after. For the junior class, the eight senators that were reported in the chair order are Jayden Flemming, Kobe Buggs, Larry LaFrance, Dioby Cherisme, Dave Noble, Dakari Williams, Taleor Harden, and Loryn May. 

Following the senators came the announcements of the class attendants for the FAMU Royal Court. There will be a runoff Thursday for the position of sophomore attendant between Zoe Carter and Ongel Harris. For Senior and Junior attendants, those positions will be held by Janelle Cotton and Tamerah Williams. 

For the seat of Electoral Commissioner, unopposed candidate Ryaniah Ellis will be over the EC come to this fall. 

There will also be a runoff for Student Government Association President and Vice President between the administrations of Londe Mondelus and Jeffrey Francis and Nyla Sams, and Machia Sanders. 

In the results for the FAMU Royal Court, there will also be a runoff for the crown of the 24th Mister Florida A&M University between Devin Nobles Jr. and Joel Williams. For the crown of the 117th Miss Florida A&M University, Kendall Johnson will be serving for the 2023-2024 academic year. For the positions of King and Queen of Orange and Green, they will be taken over by Malachi Gibbs and Keyanna McFann. 

Congratulations to all those that ran campaigns and to those that won their positions. Thursday, the polls will open for the runoff election for the SGA, Mister FAMU, and Sophomore attendant positions. Ballots will be sent out to everyone’s FAMU emails. 

For additional information regarding the vote percentages for this year’s election, visit the FAMU iStrike website and go to the electoral commission’s page.