Senate chose president, protemp

During Monday’s meeting, the 37th Student Senate elected Ricquel Jackson as senate president and A’sia McFarland as senate president pro-tempore for the 2008-2009 school year.

Out of 35 senators, 24 voted for Jackson and 22 voted for McFarland.

Each senator went before the Senate to give presentations of their goals and visions for the upcoming year.

A secret ballot process was conducted and Senate Secretary Jessica Blanding, Electoral Commissioner Marva Butler and Chief Justice Magalie Yacinthe counted the ballots.

Both senators ran unopposed.

Sens. Calvin Hayes and Valencia Witherspoon were also nominated for senate president and pro-tempore respectively; however, both declined.