34th Senate approves four justices at meeting

The 34th Student Senate confirmed eight candidates on Monday during its second meeting of the semester.

After a prayer followed by the alma mater , pledge of allegiance and the committee reports, each candidate was individually identified by the position he or she was vying for. The candidates were then given one minute for their opening statement followed by a 10-minute question-and-answer period and one minute for final remarks.

At the end of the question-and-answer period, students in the audience of the well-attended meeting periodically cheered in support of their favorite candidate. Some even prompted a “decorum!” reminder from Senate President Ramon Alexander.

All eight candidates were appointed to their respective positions by unanimous vote by the senate.

Kendra Rich, a third year MBA student from Ocala and fourth year MBA student Janaya Davis-Lewis from Chicago were confirmed as associate justices.

Rich said she is fit for the position of associate justice because she “understands the difference between fair and just.”

Davis-Lewis said she is very much interested in the law and seeing justice served throughout the student body.

Fifth year business student Joseph Pierce was appointed associate chief justice and Jason Hurst, a sixth year business student, waappointed associate chief justice and Jason Hurst, a sixth year MBA student, was confirmed as chief justice.

Appointed justices serve until they graduate.

Alexandra Judkins was confirmed as comptroller and said that she plans to fulfill her duties to the best of her abilities. Judkins described some of her duties as comptroller as making sure that all student government funds are appropriately dispersed and conducting audits of organizations that receive funds.

“Any student who wishes to find out where the money is going, just come to me,” Judkins said.

Joycelyn Morris was appointed deputy comptroller; Paula A. Hill, secretary of academic affairs; and Courtney J. Culmer, secretary of communications. These four executive branch positions will be held by each candidate for one year.

“Ultimately I believe that everyone confirmed is more than capable of performing in their position,” said sophomore Sen. Carey Goyins.

Monday marked the first day of the declaration of candidacy for fall elections and Alexander said the senate had already received 55 applications .

Elections will be held Sept. 8 through Sept. 13 for eight freshman senators, freshman class president and vice president, three graduate senators and graduate president and vice president.

At the meeting students were also reminded that Rattler Appreciation Day will be held on Sept. 1 from noon to 2 p.m., and will include free food, school supplies and entertainment by on-campus organizations such as Epicurean, Faces, House Arrest II, and the FAMU Gospel Choir.

Also at the meeting was Director of Student Activities Alice Mathis who announced that homecoming applications are. The homecoming committee will meet Thursday at 4 p.m. in the Embassy Room.

contact Kalifa Hickinson at k_hickinson@yahoo.com.